Showing posts with label t-shirts. Show all posts
Showing posts with label t-shirts. Show all posts

Thursday, June 24, 2010

So this is how I've spent my past week.

It's time for an educational post today. Well, not so much educational as.. you'll get what I mean in a minute.
Today I'm going to show you how I made a t-shirt! *the excitement*

So first things first, what you'll need is a blank t-shirt (no way).
Unforch I didn't take a photo of this part. Oh well. But I bought white t-shirts(men's, I like the fit better) in Penneys for €3.


Apparently now, the paint goes on to already washed t-shirts better.. But I didn't bother to be honest.

Then, you'll need some fabric paint.

You can buy this paint in probably any decent craft shop. I got mine in the Art and Hobby shop for €3.99


Now, you'll need some stencils etc. Depending on what you wanna put on your t-shirts. I wanted writing, so I bought a sponge alphabet for €2.



Now, think of something witty. Okay thought of something? Yeah, make sure you have the correct spelling and grammar. Don't want to look like a fool now do we?

NB. PROTECT YOUR AREA WITH NEWSPAPER. I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR GROUNDINGS/BEATINGS ANY PARENTS/TABLE-OWNERS MAY INFLICT UPON YOU WHEN THE PAINT GETS EVERYWHERE. COS TRUST ME, IT DOES.

Now, put some newspaper or some thick cardboard in the inside of the shirt (it tends to go through to the other side) and simply throw some paint onto the sponge and lash it onto your top. Doing well are we? Yeah, well make sure to wash your hands quite often (paint gets EVERYWHERE, but I'll show you how to deal with that later).

So, I printed out "make tea, not war" (I wore it today and the bus driver laughed at it *smiles*) here's what it looked like:


Soz it's sideways, I'm not sure how to fix that :/ Anyway, you get the picture. Now although it looks pretty unflattering and square, don't worry! It looks good on!



Look at that sexy bitch. (I'm sorry)

Now clearly cos I'm a talentless bastard and the paint gets everywhere, there were quite a few blobs of paint scattered around the gaff. So to fix this, I stenciled a heart (I'll link a video of how to do that at the end) over the little blobs.





Both of these are me fixing mistakes.

I've become quite obsessed with this, and here's another I'm in the process of making:

..reading my diary..
Name that show? :)



"What's with that bizarrely placed heart Ailish?" you say.
"Oh, well I dunno. I didn't make a mistake or anything, I just felt like putting it there" :/




Moving on, after you're finished with your design leave it to dry (preferably over night, that way you're safe). Then get some greaseproof/baking paper, put it over it and iron (as shown above. That photo makes me feel really dizzy).


Here is a video on how to make your own stencils. It's super easy. Though, I've never tried the first way of doing it. It looks like it requires effort, but still, it looks easy enough. She shows another way though, that I use.


Enjoy!

Here's some alphabet soup.. Straight from my bathroom sink!